Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Ethnicity and Nationalism on the Northeastern Frontier : New Scenarios and Alternative Future for the China-India Disputed Border
Authors: Beggiora, Stefano
Keywords: Indologia
Issue Date: 2014
Publisher: Venezia : Edizioni Ca' Foscari
Abstract: The Seven Sisters states are a region in the North-eastern India frontier comprising the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Tripura. After the 1962 Sino-Indian war, China raised territorial claims on this wild region, rich in resources and featured by a strategic position. If China considers those areas be part of the national territory, due to an ethno-linguistic continuity of some people who live there, nevertheless the backbone of the region consists of an environment dense of historical and cultural elements that belong to India and, indeed, that go beyond its boundaries.
Appears in Collections:Annali di Ca' Foscari. Serie orientale

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
009_Beggiora.pdf109.78 kBAdobe PDFView/Open

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.